Boards and Commissions


Four boards and commissions make recommendations to the Governing Body on key issues. Each of these groups is comprised of community volunteers who readily give their time and expertise to help improve our city. Members are appointed by the Mayor with the consent of the City Council.

The City also appoints two members to the Spring Hill Recreation Commission board. The Spring Hill Recreation Commission is funded by tax dollars paid by property owners within the Spring Hill School District. This area encompasses portions of Johnson and Miami counties. The commission is governed by a five-member volunteer board. Two are appointed by the City of Spring Hill; two are appointed by the Spring Hill School District; and one serves at large. They meet on a monthly basis to oversee the commission's operations and staff. A representative from the school board and city council serve as non-voting members. 

The City also maintained an Arts Council until Feb. 26, 2015, when an ordinance was passed abolishing the Arts Council after the organization received its 501(C)3 designation. The Council continues to support arts in our community as an independent group. The Public Safety Advisory Board was also disbanded in early 2019. 

Accepting applications for Boards until Noon, Jan. 20 2023.

The City of Spring Hill is always looking for dedicated residents who care about their community's future to serve on our boards and commissions. The City of Spring Hill is accepting applications for the following boards:

Parks Advisory Board
(one seat)
Majority of members must reside in City LimitsFeb 2023 - Feb 2026 (1)
(vacancy) Feb 2023 - Feb 2025 (1)

Letters of interest must be received at City Hall, Attn: City Clerk, 401 N. Madison, P. O. Box 424, Spring Hill, KS, 66083, by Noon, Jan. 20, 2023. You may also email your application to, Subject Line – Board Application. Current board members with expiring terms must resubmit an application. If you have any questions, please contact the City Clerk at (913) 592-3664.