Broadband Task Force


Spring Hill residents and businesses have consistently expressed a need for better broadband speeds, service, and options. At the Nov. 10, 2016, City Council meeting, Mayor Ellis proposed establishing a Broadband Task Force. The City Council approved this request, and seven members were appointed to the new task force at the Jan. 12, 2017 Council meeting. 

The Broadband Task Force — a group of resident volunteers — is responsible for examining and evaluating the feasibility of establishing either a public broadband utility or a utility through a public/private partnership. In January 2017, the group began meeting monthly, working with City staff and a consultant to explore and evaluate potential options to bring better internet speeds to Spring Hill. The Broadband Task Force made their final recommendation to the City Council on Feb. 15, 2018. City staff and the City Council continue to move forward on the recommendation. 

Latest news

City issues RFP for high-speed broadband
City Council votes to move forward with Request for Proposals for broadband
City, Broadband Task Force still on pace with recommendation
Broadband Task Force makes recommendation to City Council
Financial analysis of fiber models presented to Broadband Task Force
Broadband Task Force presented with first fiber options
Task Force schedules special meeting
Broadband Task Force kicks off fiber feasibility study
Council accepts bid for fiber feasibility study


City Councilwoman Andrea Hughes' presentation to Kansas Senate Utilities Committee March 2018
Joanne Hovis, president of CTC Technology and Energy, testifying before U.S. House, mentioning Spring Hill January 2018
Final presentation from CTC Technology and Energy
Dec. 12 presentation from CTC Technology and Energy
Nov. 16 presentation from CTC Technology and Energy


CTC Technology and Energy Broadband Feasibility Study — Final report

For updates on the Broadband Task Force, visit the City News Center here


Regular meetings are 7 p.m. on the fourth Tuesday of each month at the Spring Hill Civic Center, 401 N. Madison St. Members of the public are welcome to attend.

To view Broadband Task Force agendas and minutes, click here. Sign up to receive meeting agendas and minutes here.


  • Julia Atwell
  • Mark Bye
  • Ricardo Cortez
  • Kyle Griffin
  • Brian Peel
  • Carol Thomas, Chair