Public Safety Advisory Board


Recognizing the importance of improving understanding and communication between the Spring Hill Police Department, Johnson County Fire District No. 2, and the community, the Governing Body established the Public Safety Advisory Board in 2012.
The PSAB serves as an advisory board to the Police and Fire Chiefs. The group studies, recommends, and reviews policy programs and concepts used in other communities which are designed to help improve cooperation between the police, fire officials, and the community. The PSAB also promotes educational and safety programs and acts as a liaison between residents, businesses, and local public safety agencies.

The PSAB consists of five members who serve three-year terms. Members should reside or own a business in the city of Spring Hill, and the membership should reflect a range of civic, service, charitable, religious, and business groups.

All members must pass a background check. Applicants with any felony, drug conviction, or person misdemeanor will be eliminated from the application process. A five-year span of time is the minimum allotted time for convictions or diversions before an applicant can apply for this committee.

View the most recent Public Safety Advisory Board agendas and minutes here.


Monthly meetings are 7 p.m. on the first Monday at the Spring Hill Civic Center, 401 N. Madison St.

Members and Terms

Jeffrey Vaughn Feb. 2018 to Feb. 2021
Michael Gies Feb. 2017 to Feb. 2020
Vacancy Feb. 2018 to Feb. 2021
Kyle Shipps Feb. 2016 to Feb. 2019
John Freeman Nov. 2016 to Feb. 2019